64 brokers measured in Australiabroker data checked 11.10.2026
ThinkMarkets logoThinkMarketsThinkMarkets Pty Ltd

ThinkMarkets in Australia — review, licence and costs

Written and checked by the Southerly editorial team · how we score ·  score recalculated 01.10.2026
noAccepts residents of AustraliaOpened by ThinkMarkets (Australia) Pty Ltd, register checked 29.09.2026

Score (6 of 6 axes scored)

4.432.0–5.0

ranked against full-basis brokers

  • Reviews25%80
  • Round-turn cost20%90
  • Safety20%90
  • Payouts15%80
  • Track record10%80
  • Platforms10%50

Numbered by weight: axis 1 counts for most.

2 + 3 × 0.810 = 4.43 · axes on 0–100, total on 2.0–5.0

Key facts (6 facts)

Onboarding entity
ThinkMarkets Pty Ltd
Founded
2010
Retail leverage
30AU
Round turn
7 USDAU
Currencies
AUD and major FX
Swap-free account
yes

Licence check

ASIC AFSL 424700
No licence number published for Australiachecked 29.09.2026asic.gov.au
Open an account with ThinkMarkets

The broker's own website. Not a partner link — we earn nothing from it.

Screenshot of the ThinkMarkets website
ThinkMarkets's own site, captured for this review (07.10.2026)

Who actually onboards you

Entity that onboards Australia residents
ThinkMarkets Pty Ltd
Local standing
Regulated in Australia
Licence as the register states it
ASIC AFSL 424700
Leverage for this entity
1:30 retail cap
The firm behind it
Founded 2010, global broker
What we hold against it
Mixed review metrics

Leverage by entity

The licence belongs to the firm; a leverage figure belongs to one entity. Only the entity that onboards Australian residents enters the score.

The entity that onboards youThinkMarkets Pty LtdLocal or offshore not stated in the source · ASIC licence —
1:30AU
Australia median, local entities: 1:50 · 18 of 20 statedApplies to you

Scale from 1:10 to 1:3000, logarithmic.

Client protection

  • Local entity onboards youRegulated in Australia
  • Regulator warning on filenone found

— means the broker does not state it in any source we captured. It is not read as “no protection” and it is not scored.

Price against Australia market median(priced from 73 of 76)

Round turn, 1 lot EURUSD, spread plus commission, USD
ThinkMarkets, raw spread plus commission7
Australia median, all 73 priced6
Australia median, the 62 priced on the raw spread plus commission6

Medians run over the 73 of 76 brokers that publish a price for Australia, never over the whole base. A spread without its commission is not a price and is not counted.

Accounts

Account types the broker names for this country: Standard, ThinkZero. The figures below are the broker's own and do not differ by account in any source we captured.

Swap-free account terms

Terms read from the account page on 01.10.2026. The cap on open positions is not published.

Cost calculator (median of 73 priced of 76)

ThinkMarkets, per month140.00 USD
Australia median, per month120.00 USD

EURUSD round turns at the prices captured 01.10.2026. Shown in USD only: we do not publish a AUD conversion because the exchange rate is not part of our data.

Where ThinkMarkets sits in the Australia base(76 brokers)

Round-turn cost, USD (73 of 76 priced)

9<5
5710
315
320
125
030
0>30

Median 6 USD · range 1.5-20 · this broker 7 USD · 3 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Minimum deposit, USD (16 of 76 priced)

8<20
040
360
180
4>80

Median 32.5 USD · range 0-100 · this broker 0 USD · 60 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Retail leverage (43 of 76 with a Australia figure)

32<1k
62k
33k
04k
2>4k

Median 1:30 · range 30-5000 · this broker 1:30 · 33 of 76 brokers do not publish it

Withdrawal time published (76 brokers)

6of 64
Published, hours6not published38ThinkMarkets is one of the 6

Payouts(1 method)

MethodDeposit, hWithdrawal, hFee, USDMin, USD
Bank transfer24—050

Deposit and withdrawal methods (1 methods · 0 local rails)

BPAY, bank transfer

  • Bank transfer
Account currency
AUD and major FX
Fee declared
1 of 1 methods
Withdrawal back to
the funding method

Where it does not serve(8 countries)

United StatesCanadaBermudaEuropean UnionAustraliaUnited KingdomRussiaJapan

From the client agreement, clause 2.3. A country missing from a translated page is not read as “served”.

Platforms and markets(4 platforms)

  • ThinkTrader
  • MT4
  • MT5
ClassCountMin spread
ThinkTrader—0.4
MT4—0.4
MT5—0.4
All instruments4000—

Identical for every row: Leverage 30 AU.

Reviews(1 platform · 25% of the score)

4.6/ 5
Trustpilot rating
1,498
reviews
02.10.2026
snapshot, 2026
SnapshotRatingReviews
02.10.20264.61,498

Share of reviewers in Australia: — The platform does not publish it.

Pros and cons(6 for and 2 against, each tied to a figure on this page)

For
  • Authorised by the Australia regulator in its own register
  • Min deposit 0 USD, under the Australia median 32.5
  • Withdrawal in 24 h, one of 74 of 76 brokers here that publish a time
  • Swap-free account available
  • Round-turn cost 90 of 100, its strongest of 6 scored axes
  • 3 platforms: ThinkTrader, MT4, MT5
Against
  • Round turn 7 USD on the raw + commission basis, over the Australia median 6
  • Platforms 50 of 100, its weakest of 6 scored axes

Alternatives in Australia(6 of 76 scored in Australia)

4.45
Pepperstone
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0AU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#9
4.14
XM
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
7AU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#28
3.77
Equiti
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0 groupAU
Rank in this country
#50
4.55
Global Prime
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
7AU
Min deposit, USD
0AU
Leverage
500AU
Rank in this country
#3
4.54
Capital.com
Locally licensed
Round turn, USD
6AU
Min deposit, USD
20 groupAU
Leverage
30AU
Rank in this country
#4
3.86
BlackBull Markets
Licensed elsewhere
Round turn, USD
6AU
Min deposit, USD
0 groupAU
Leverage
500 group
Rank in this country
#44

"group" marks a figure the broker publishes for the group rather than for this country. It is shown because the broker states it, and it is not ranked, averaged or used to sort.

Methodology(6 axes · formula v1.0)

Score = 2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes scored 0–100. Range 2.0–5.0. An axis without data drops out and the remaining weights are renormalised; it is never scored zero or estimated. Group-wide figures never enter a Australia score. Full methodology

AxisWeightWhat is measuredThinkMarkets
Reviews25%Rating, volume and recency on one public review platform80
Round-turn cost20%Round turn on 1 lot EURUSD: spread plus commission, against the country median90
Safety20%Local authorisation, the entity that onboards you, any regulator warning90
Payouts15%Published withdrawal time, fees and the methods available in the country80
Track record10%Years since the firm was founded, from its own filings80
Platforms10%Which trading platforms the broker confirms for this country50

FAQ

Does ThinkMarkets accept residents of Australia?
No. Regulated in Australia Onboarding entity: ThinkMarkets Pty Ltd
Is ThinkMarkets licensed to serve clients in Australia?
ASIC AFSL 424700 Checked on 29.09.2026.
How much does one round turn cost at ThinkMarkets?
About 7.0 USD per standard lot on EUR/USD. The median across brokers measured for Australia is 6.0 USD.
What leverage does ThinkMarkets offer to retail clients in Australia?
Up to 1:30. leverageGeo: 1:30 retail cap
Which trading platforms does ThinkMarkets support?
ThinkTrader, MT4, MT5. Instruments: 4,000+ instruments
How can I withdraw money from ThinkMarkets in Australia?
BPAY, bank transfer
What account types does ThinkMarkets offer?
Standard and ThinkZero
Does ThinkMarkets offer a swap-free (Islamic) account?
Yes. ThinkMarkets offers a swap-free (Islamic) account to Australia residents.

Taxes for an Australian resident

    Not tax advice. Check with the ATO.

    Verified · Sources

    Verified01.10.2026
    next review 01.01.2027